“Not a bucket list” bucket list.

aSo as my days on the island come to an end, I’ve started up a bucket list, except for the fact that I am not actually dying. But it’s basically a little list of things I’ve always wanted to do but never got the chance to do.

Keep in mind, my list is very short because my siblings were just here 7 months ago and we had similar bucket lists, and a lot of it was completed.

So lets get to it.

The bucket list:

  1. Watch the sunrise
  2. Climb Hooiberg
  3. Go to Baby beach
  4. See a fire truck from up close
  5. Visit the police academy
  6. Go beach hopping
  7. Go bowling
  8. Eat at places I’ve never been before

Okay so first thing I did was go Beach hopping with my friend Natasha, we kicked it off with the Beach at Mangel halto. Then we moved on to Catalina cove, where we sat and fed some birds for a good hour, and then we went to Tres Trapi. This is where shit hit the fan. Right as we’re getting ready to leave, a car pulled up and 3 prostitutes stepped out with an older gentleman. The prostitutes started taking pictures of each other and after about 2 minutes, one of them was topless in the picture. meanwhile the old guy was struggling to put on sunscreen as continued to be ignored by the ladies he paid for. After about 15 minutes, a second car arrives with 2 other prostitutes and 1 young guy. The women greeted each other and you could clearly see they knew each other. That’s probably because majority of prostitutes on the island live in the same neighborhood. After a good 10 minutes, a father and son showed up, and we knew we had to watch how the father would try to explain this to his son. Unfortunately our show was cut short because the father and son decided to leave. And as they left, so did we.

Next up on the bucket list was watching the sunrise. However I decided to combine a few of the projects into one big project. I woke up at 4:45 AM on a Wednesday morning, Missieanna and Viviana came to get me at 6:00 AM and we went to Hooiberg. We got out the car and without stretching or warming up and started bolting up the stairs. The sun was supposed to rise at 6:23 AM and we had a couple of minutes to get to the top. We had 550 steps to conquer, but by 50 we were all out of breath. I forgot my inhaler that day and I was having an extremely tough time going up the steps. The good news was that we were Post tropical storm Don, so it was actually pretty cloudy that morning so by the time we did finally make it up there, the sun was coming out from behind the clouds. We then sat and talked for a good 30 minutes and then went back to the car. After that we decided to go to Baby beach. We stopped by a supermarket, picked up some drinks and snacks, and we were off! We had a good time at baby beach, except for around 10, the remains of the storm kicked in, and we got a heavy downpour, lasting for about 45 minutes. We were freezing and at some point I had to pee so I decided to in the water, which was surprisingly super warm, even though I didn’t even pee yet. After a good couple of hours at baby beach, we were dead tired and went home.

Third project was the Fire Department. I had no idea if they would let me take a tour or if I was even allowed to see the truck, but we had to try. On a Friday morning, at around 10:00 AM, Rae came to get me and we were on our way. We came in and met Mr. Croes. He was really surprised but also ready to help! He took us to see the big truck first, as the other trucks were out. The first truck was the one with the bucket up top, and he told us what it’s used for and who works on the truck. We then got to see the inside of the truck and we even got to climb onto the truck. Then we got to see the Office on wheels which is decked out with phones and white boards on the inside. He explained that when there’s a big fire they’ll bring the office on wheels and they’ll sit and make a plan in there. When we were almost ready to go inside, the final truck arrived. The truck with the hoses and tanks and we were so ready. Mr. Croes said goodbye and we met up with Mr. Giel. He started to explain about the cabin and who sits where and who does what. Afterwards we got to look at the difference between the trucks and then finally we get to the good stuff. Mr. Giel brings out a pair of boots, a coat and a hat. I get to get all dressed up and I climb onto the truck and its picture time! I was so excited! Over the moon! For so long I’ve asked my mom about the fire department and I was finally getting all of the answers. After all of my childsplay, we got to go inside to the 911 Center. They showed us how the computers work and how they find houses and how to track all of the trucks. We spent a total of 2 hours there and after that, it was finally time to eat. We went to Craft Coffee & Bar, had some waffles and fruits and had a good laugh. Rae really helped make my dream come true.

On saturday me and my mom decided to eat out for lunch, so we went to Antesala. A cafe that I have never been to but I was always intrigued. We walked into a beach themed cafe with a very relaxed feel. We sat down, looked at the menu and ordered. After finishing our salmon wraps we decided we were STILL hungry. Mostly because we had an extremely early breakfast. So my mom ordered a Chinese Chicken soup, and I ordered the BLT Avocado burger. Ya girl was hungry. It was a little bit of a wait, but totally worth it! We talked a lot, specifically about me leaving and what could help make my transition easier. At some point I looked at my mom and I wanted to cry, because I don’t want to leave her behind. But it’s time. After eating we went over a list of errands we had to accomplish for the day and we were on our way.

As for the remaining projects, like bowling, I’ll do my best to make it happen. However the police academy is closed during summer break so I guess I’ll do that if I ever come back to this island.

But for now? For now I’m satisfied.

With love and ambition, Kamla.

Leave a Reply

